Thread: A NOOB'S INTRODUCTION TO PATH OF EXILE

Clan Member
    Sergeant
    Sergeant (SGT)
    South Africa

User Info Menu

A NOOB'S INTRODUCTION TO PATH OF EXILE

Hi, Callandor here
    I'm new in FeverClan and this will be my 1st post.
    I consider a Noob to be someone, like myself, new to the game and unfamiliar with the mechanics and other intricacies of PoE even though you may be an experienced gamer otherwise.
    I have recently given up playing D3, may play it again in the future, but for now I am looking for a new challenge.
    I had messed around with PoE in the past and decided to give it a serious try.
    By nature, I like doing a lot of research, trying to figure things out for myself. Almost as if I want to beat the game without help from anyone.
    This of course is not the right approach, although the research part is good.
    PoE is designed to be played in groups and for communities to interact and discuss extensively. The discussion is almost as fulfilling as the gameplay, depending on what you want from the game.
    Games like PoE takes 30 minutes to learn, but a lifetime to master. That is because it is an ever evolving entity that changes its colour and nature from season to season.
    As soon as you think you have a handle on the mechanics, and that is tough enough, the developers change things up.
    The point is that no one person, no matter how good, talented or experienced can or will know everything.

To avoid being left at sea when starting PoE the following tips from a Noob’s perspective for the new player to get started faster:

1. Research, read as much as you can. Understand that no matter how hard you study you will not know enough.
    2. Ask questions, strike up a conversation with anyone that seem friendly (in-game). Gamers are mostly friendly and helpful. If you are unlucky enough to hit on an $%^& ignore him and try again.
    3. From your research pick a build and take it as far as possible;